Earworms, eh?

So I just learned a new word today: Earworms. It sounds completely and utterly disturbing, which is probably why I enjoy it so much, but really it’s just a catchy tune that gets stuck in your head. Maybe im the only person in the entire world who did not know this until now but im still fascinated with it. Especially since every single day I have a case of the “earworms” and I sing it aloud for everyone else to hear it. Over, and over, and over again, but when I have a case of the earworms I sing the same line of the song every single time I think of it so I can annoy everyone else around me. What can I say, im just a giving person.

Earworms can drive me literally insane some days, especially if im in a terrible mood but its something everyone has to live with and honestly there is just no way of getting rid of it. For me anyway, but I don’t really care because I enjoy the music that gets stuck in my head because most the time I have a song stuck in my head it either means that: 1) that’s how im feeling at the moment, or 2) I just need to hear that song again, because its been awhile.

I enjoy my word of the day, even though it is no longer daytime here anymore and I plan to use it an abundance of times before I go to bed. Ha, isn’t my family just lucky? So I decided to share with you the songs that always give me earworms, and the one line I sing over, and over again. 🙂
Enjoy!

Bullet with butterfly wings- The Smashing Pumpkins
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-r-V0uK4u0
“Despite all my rage, I am still just a rat in the cage”
When I attempt to sing the rest of the song I always end up butchering it. Or as my mom likes to tell me I sing like im asking a question, and not making a statement.

Roxanne- Sting & The Police
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3EmA-eJPxs
“ROXANNE, you don’t have to put on a red light”
I butcher this song as well, even though now I know its saying “you don’t have to put on a red light” I always sing “you don’t have to put up a red light”. It’s just one of those things everyone does, but it drives my mom cray cray so that’s just a bonus.

Yummy, Yummy, Yummy- Ohio Express?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6Zs8qbExfs
“Yummy, Yummy, Yummy I GOT LOVE IN MY TUMMY” I believe it is a McDonald’s commercial now, I wont lie I had no idea who sang the song. But every time I used to work with my favorite manager she would start singing this song and give me the earworms.

Cats In The Cradle- Ugly Kid Joe
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hcTUuzHlvM
“The cats in the cradle and the silver spoon, little boy blue and the man on the moon”

Dress Up Like Dreams- Backseat Goodbye
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbyYLq5CanM
“Dont hang on to words you don’t understand there just letters in unalphabetical order anyway, anyway, anywayyyyy” Actually any Backseat Goodbye song easily gives me earworms.

We Are Young- Fun.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv6dMFF_yts
“TONIGHTTTTTTTTTT, WE ARE YOUNG SO LETS SET THE WORLD ON FIREEEEE! WE CAN BURN BRIGHTERRRRRR THAN THE SUNNNN” This is actually my favorite song to sing over and over again. Don’t judge me I can enjoy some hipster music 😛 also the song “Some nights” by fun. as well, but I only know the words “Some nights”

Can’t Stand It- Nevershoutnever
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxy-0OaWTh4
“Baby I love you, I never want to let you go. The more I think about the more I want to let you know that everything you do is super duper cute and I cant stand it”

Sex Life- Destroy Rebuild Before God Shows [D.R.U.G.S)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i15A1ecyLFg
“If you had a sex life, a sex life, would you even worry about mine? When your bed is empty your a waste of time”

Shoot it Out- 10 Years
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgsnhijhOho
“Feed em, starve em, keep beggin a little more… im not gonna be your whore. Load it, cock it, pull it refused to be ignored im not gonna fight your war” Actually any part of this song can easily give me the earworms.

Dead & Bloated- Stone Temple Pilots
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rdu9apXE2W4
“I am smellin like a rose that somebody gave me on my birthday deathbed?”
Thats what I sing anyway, I could be singing it completely wrong. Dont judge.

Honestly, I could go on for days and days but I’ll leave you with these 10 songs so hopefully I can pass on the earworms. Just in the hour or so it took me to write this blog I said earworms 10 times! And thats just in this blog. Since I’ve learned this amazing word I’m seriously telling everyone about it. Apparently im not the only person who didn’t know what they were. YAY for teaching people new things!

Anyway. Goodnight world I love you. Sweet dreams.
XOXOXOXOXOXO; Kaylalarissax3

~ by kaylalarissax3 on December 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Pepperminting

Your Virtual Big Sister

The Mom-ent of Truth

The ramblings of a first-time mom.

Waiting for Alaska...she's here!

Everything about our little girl Alaska Emerald (21 weeks old) and our life as a family and everything else that pops into my head (and I have time to write about). I'm Klaudia, an 18 year old mummy. Comment for any questions about pregnancy, newborn babies or anything else and any post requests or questions you might have.

lumpsandbumps

Along the broken road through IVF

DIY Home Raising

Inspiration, Technique, and Daily Life for Home

